Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

夏季 EBT:为孩子们提供一个健康的夏季

马斯科吉族正与奇卡索族、切罗基族、俄克拉荷马州无饥饿组织和美国农业部 (USDA) 合作,向马斯科吉族保留地推出夏季儿童电子福利转移计划 (夏季 EBT)。夏季 EBT 在夏季无法获得学校膳食时为符合条件的儿童提供额外的营养支持。

阅读更多»

让夏季营养变得简单:杂货援助讲解员

随着夏季临近,有学龄儿童的家庭可能会发现自己处境艰难。如果没有学校来补充孩子全天的一些营养需求,杂货预算就会捉襟见肘,家庭的负担能力可能会受到限制。

阅读更多»

青年之声的阶梯

YAC 是一种真正的青年参与的代际方法,我们遵循 Adam Fletcher 采用的青年之声阶梯。阶梯的最低级别代表了青少年项目,他们无法对他们从事的项目、他们所做的活动做出决定,并且可能看起来只是象征性的角色。阶梯的最高层代表由青年人领导的项目、决策、实践解决冲突并体现青年驱动的氛围。我们在俄克拉荷马州无饥饿青年行动委员会计划中努力实现青年/成人平等。

阅读更多»
州议会大厦天花板

Capitol Insider:有关粮食不安全政策和宣传的最新消息(2024 年 XNUMX 月)

预算谈判似乎即将结束,立法机关无限期休会的最后期限 31 月 2025 日即将到来。上周,参众两院领导人报告就 XNUMX 财年预算达成一致,甚至安排在阵亡将士纪念日举行会议,以在本周末之前解决松散的问题。

阅读更多»
一群形形色色的人站在俄克拉荷马州议会大厦前的台阶上。

国会大厦反饥饿日,政治让位于饥饿

“为你关心的事情而奋斗。但要以一种能够引导其他人加入你的方式去做。” ——露丝·巴德·金斯伯格

这句话挂在我的办公室里,每天提醒我自己和他人。提醒您,真正的倡导不仅仅是为对您重要的事情而奋斗,而是激励其他人加入对话。金斯伯格大法官的话对于反映国会大厦的反饥饿日尤为重要。

阅读更多»
100多人聚集在俄克拉荷马州议会大厦的圆形大厅。

Capitol Insider:有关粮食不安全政策和宣传的最新消息(2024 年 XNUMX 月)

这是国会大厦忙碌的一周! 26 月 29 日和 XNUMX 日是委员会提交立法的第一批截止日期。虽然现在还处于会议初期,但本周之后我们将更好地了解哪些法案有机会最终提交到州长的办公桌上。

阅读更多»
阿尔弗雷德·加里在户外对着镜头微笑的肖像

协作进展:探索俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿的非线性路径

就在八个月前,我收到一封电子邮件,内容如下:“饥饿和贫困无处不在。”这一提醒是在我接受国会饥饿中心第 30 届艾默生研究员邀请后几周发出的。对于那些不熟悉该计划的人来说,比尔·艾默生国家饥饿奖学金旨在培训和激励美国消除饥饿和贫困运动中的新领导人。研究员通过在全国各地的社区组织以及华盛顿特区的以政策为重点的组织的实习获得重要的第一手经验

阅读更多»
一群人在一个大会议室里听两位演讲者的演讲

让俄克拉荷马州图书馆参与抗饥饿解决方案

三月初,俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿 (HFO) 团队成员参加了在塔尔萨举行的俄克拉荷马州图书馆协会 (OLA) 年会。在这次为期两天的活动中,HFO 工作人员与公共、学校和大学图书馆工作人员讨论了解决社区饥饿问题的机会。 HFO 有机会通过多次演讲分享抗饥饿工作中的联系方式,包括夏季膳食技巧、SNAP 外展以及图书馆参与供餐计划的资源等主题。 

阅读更多»
州议会大厦天花板

Capitol Insider:有关粮食不安全政策和宣传的最新消息(2024 年 XNUMX 月)

这是国会大厦忙碌的一周! 26 月 29 日和 XNUMX 日是委员会提交立法的第一批截止日期。虽然现在还处于会议初期,但本周之后我们将更好地了解哪些法案有机会最终提交到州长的办公桌上。

阅读更多»
小学生在教室吃早餐_俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿

全国学校早餐周又来了!

没有简单的方法可以表达这一点……俄克拉荷马州的学校早餐参与率下降了。从 9.8-2021 学年 (SY) 到 2022-2022 学年,学校早餐的平均每日参与率 (ADP*) 下降了 2023%。

学校供餐参与率下降可能源于多种因素。食品研究与行动中心 (FRAC) 指出:“食品成本上涨、劳动力短缺和供应链中断,再加上餐费恢复,导致许多学区的参与率下降。家人对大流行病行动带来的变化感到困惑;围绕学校供餐和学校供餐债务的耻辱又回来了;学校的行政工作负担越来越重。”

阅读更多»
约翰黄在绿色公园般的背景前的肖像

“和平是代际财富的一种形式。” – 莫尼法博士,医学博士

在电影《芭比娃娃》中,当露丝·汉德勒与芭比娃娃一起散步时,她说:“我们母亲站着不动,这样我们的女儿就可以回头看看她们走了多远。”当我回忆起我作为比尔·爱默生饥饿研究员在俄克拉荷马州的六个月任期时,我想到了我的越南祖先的几代人,他们渴望一个超越殖民、战争和贫困的暴行、充满欢乐、稳定和想象力的未来。

阅读更多»
州议会大厦天花板

Capitol Insider:有关粮食不安全政策和宣传的最新消息(2024 年 XNUMX 月)

这是国会大厦忙碌的一周! 26 月 29 日和 XNUMX 日是委员会提交立法的第一批截止日期。虽然现在还处于会议初期,但本周之后我们将更好地了解哪些法案有机会最终提交到州长的办公桌上。

阅读更多»
工人们正在准备饭菜

夏季餐食区域会议将于 22 月 XNUMX 日开幕

HFO 将与儿童食品安全联盟 (CFSC)、俄克拉荷马州东部食品银行 (FBEO) 和俄克拉荷马州地区食品银行 (RFBO) 合作举办三场夏季餐食区域会议。这些会议将取代以前的年度夏季餐会启动形式。 

阅读更多»

长期影响需要长期努力

最近,我向俄克拉荷马州非营利中心召集的一群非营利组织领导人谈论了系统变革和倡导的价值。 我获得了创新奖,这是对 HFO 员工和合作伙伴创造性地实施我们州抗击饥饿的原创方法的能力的认可。 我指出,创新最重要的一步是规模化。 如果它不可扩展,那么创新就不是解决方案。

阅读更多»

每月为俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿组织捐款,每周二奉献星期二

当我们临近节日时,我们遇到了许多关于需求和慷慨的令人心碎和感人的故事。 我们都被那些苦苦挣扎的家庭所感动,他们的礼物盒里装满了火鸡和所有的装饰品。 我们知道每个人都应该与所爱的人坐在餐桌旁,我们通过慈善捐赠来表达这一价值,其中几乎三分之一发生在 XNUMX 月。 我们的捐赠反映了我们的信念,即每年的这个时候每个人都应该吃得饱、心饱。

阅读更多»
州议会大厦天花板

Capitol Insider:有关粮食不安全政策和宣传的最新消息(2023 年 XNUMX 月)

变革之风为我们带来凉爽的气温,并迅速结束斯蒂特州长要求的关于减税和预算透明度的 2023 年特别会议。 当我们展望日历年年底时,倡导者将把重点放在未来几周内计划的剩余临时研究、一些特别选举,并热切等待 8 月 18 日和 2024 月 XNUMX 日申请和提交法案的最后期限XNUMX 年立法会议。

阅读更多»
显示 2001-22 年有儿童家庭粮食不安全发生率的图表。

俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿组织就美国农业部 2022 年美国家庭粮食安全报告发表声明

美国农业部 (USDA) 本周发布了 2022 年美国家庭粮食安全报告。 美国农业部报告显示全国粮食不安全率上升,州级数据报告俄克拉荷马州粮食不安全率高于全国平均水平。

阅读更多»
幸福的家庭分享食物

俄克拉荷马州学校可以防止家庭饥饿

尽管饥饿和物价飞涨继续影响俄克拉荷马人,但 SNAP 提供了多代人干预措施,在改善粮食安全方面有着良好的记录。

由于学校拥有将家庭与粮食资源联系起来的数据和关系,因此它们具有独特的优势,可以实现和改善俄克拉荷马州许多最脆弱家庭的粮食安全。

阅读更多»
州议会大厦天花板

Capitol Insider:有关粮食不安全政策和宣传的最新消息(2023 年 XNUMX 月)

变革之风为我们带来凉爽的气温,并迅速结束斯蒂特州长要求的关于减税和预算透明度的 2023 年特别会议。 当我们展望日历年年底时,倡导者将把重点放在未来几周内计划的剩余临时研究、一些特别选举,并热切等待 8 月 18 日和 2024 月 XNUMX 日申请和提交法案的最后期限XNUMX 年立法会议。

阅读更多»

填补夏季粮食缺口:最大限度地为所有人提供夏季膳食

夏天是阳光、朋友和欢乐的时光,但当食物有限时,这可能会给家庭带来巨大的压力。 在学年期间,学生可以享用早餐和午餐,但当学校放假时,他们就失去了重要的膳食来源。 夏季膳食计划可以帮助家庭填补食物缺口并吸引社区参与。

阅读更多»

为一个没有饥饿的俄克拉荷马州而共同努力。

页首

Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Hunger Free Oklahoma Launches LEARN Workshop to Amplify Perspectives of Those Experiencing Food Insecurity

To amplify the voices of those who experience hunger and food insecurity, Hunger Free Oklahoma is launching the Lived Experience and Resource Network (LEARN) Workshop that includes a paid eight-month program beginning September 2024 for Tulsa and surrounding area residents.

Read more »

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (June 2024)

The Oklahoma Legislature adjourned from regular session on May 30, 2024, one day before constitutionally required. Since then, the Governor signed the budget and many additional bills into law. While the legislative session is over, there were several missed opportunities to invest in improving food security for Oklahomans. We will continue our work in the interim to build a better understanding of the issues for state legislators.

Read more »
Group of people smiling for the camera with legislator in US Capitol setting

Congressional Visits: Making Advocacy Easy and Accessible

On June 5, a team representing Hunger Free Oklahoma (HFO), the Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma, and the Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma went to Washington, D.C. where they discussed the upcoming Farm Bill with our Oklahoma delegation. For several, it was their first time to make Congressional visits. Here is a glimpse into some of their experiences, proving that anyone passionate about these issues can engage with their elected officials.

Read more »

Summer EBT: Providing a Healthy Summer for Kids

The Muscogee Nation is partnering with the Chickasaw Nation, the Cherokee Nation, Hunger Free Oklahoma, and United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) to introduce the Summer Electronic Benefit Transfer Program for Children (Summer EBT) to the Muscogee Nation Reservation. Summer EBT provides additional nutritional support to eligible children during the summer months when they do not have access to school meals.

Read more »

Making Summer Nutrition a SNAP: A Grocery Assistance Explainer

As summer approaches, households with school-age children can find themselves in a tough position. Without school to supplement some of their kids’ nutrition needs throughout the day, grocery budgets get stretched and what a family can afford may be limited.

Read more »

Ladder of Youth Voice

YAC is an intergenerational approach to authentic youth engagement and we follow the Ladder of Youth Voice, adopted by Adam Fletcher. The lowest levels of the ladder represent programs with youth who are not able to make decisions on the projects they work on, the activities they do, and can appear to be in token roles. The highest levels of the ladder represent programs with youth who are leading projects, making decisions, practicing conflict resolution, and embodying a youth-driving atmosphere. We strive for youth/adult equity in our Youth Action Council program at Hunger Free Oklahoma.

Read more »
State Capitol ceiling

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (May 2024)

Budget negotiations seem to be drawing to a close, just in the nick of time as the Legislature’s May 31 deadline to adjourn sine die swiftly approaches. Last week, House and Senate leaders reported reaching an agreement on the Fiscal Year 2025 budget, and even scheduled sessions on Memorial Day to tie up loose strings before the end of the week.

Read more »
A group of diverse people stand on the front steps of the Oklahoma State Capitol building.

Politics Take a Back Seat to Hunger at Anti-Hunger Day at the Capitol

“Fight for the things that you care about. But do it in a way that will lead others to join you.” – Ruth Bader Ginsburg

This quote hangs in my office as a daily reminder to myself and others. A reminder that true advocacy is not just about fighting for what matters to you – it is about inspiring others to join the conversation. Justice Ginsburg’s words are especially important in reflection of Anti-Hunger Day at the Capitol.

Read more »
More than 100 people gathered in the rotunda of the Oklahoma State Capitol building.

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (April 2024)

It’s a busy week at the Capitol! February 26 and 29 are the first series of deadlines for filed legislation to make it out of committee. While it’s still early in the session, after this week we’ll have a better idea of which bills stand a fighting chance to make it all the way to the Governor’s desk.

Read more »
Portrait of Alfred Gary smiling at the camera in an outdoor setting

Collaborative Progress: Navigating the Nonlinear Path to End Hunger in Oklahoma

Just eight months ago, I received an email which said the following: “Hunger and poverty exist EVERYWHERE.” The reminder came a few weeks after accepting an invitation to join the Congressional Hunger Center’s 30th class of Emerson Fellows. For those not familiar with the program, the Bill Emerson National Hunger Fellowship trains and inspires new leaders in the movement to end hunger and poverty in the United States. Fellows gain vital first-hand experience through placements with community-based organizations across the country coupled with policy-focused organizations in Washington, D.C.

Read more »
A group of people listen to two presenters in a large conference room

Getting Oklahoma Libraries Involved in Anti-Hunger Solutions

At the beginning of March, Hunger Free Oklahoma (HFO) team members joined the Oklahoma Library Association (OLA) annual conference in Tulsa. During this two-day event, HFO staff engaged with public, school-based, and university library staff about opportunities to address hunger in their communities. HFO had the opportunity to share ways to get connected in anti-hunger work through several presentations, including topics on summer meals tips, SNAP outreach, and resources for libraries to get involved in feeding programs. 

Read more »
State Capitol ceiling

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (March 2024)

It’s a busy week at the Capitol! February 26 and 29 are the first series of deadlines for filed legislation to make it out of committee. While it’s still early in the session, after this week we’ll have a better idea of which bills stand a fighting chance to make it all the way to the Governor’s desk.

Read more »
Elementary students eat their in classroom breakfast_hunger free oklahoma

National School Breakfast Week is here again!

There’s no easy way to say this… school breakfast participation across Oklahoma is down. Average Daily Participation (ADP*) in school breakfast dropped by 9.8% from School Year (SY) 2021-2022 to SY 2022-2023.

The decline in school meals participation could stem from multiple factors. The Food Research & Action Center (FRAC) notes, “Rising food costs, labor shortages, and supply chain disruptions, coupled with the return of charging for meals, have contributed to reports of declining participation in many school districts. Families have been confused about the change from pandemic operations; stigma surrounding school meal participation and school meal debt has returned; and schools are burdened with increased administrative work.”

Read more »
Portrait of John Hoang in front of a green park-like background

“Peace is a form of generational wealth.” – Dr. Monifa, M.D.

In the movie Barbie, as Ruth Handler walks with Barbie, she says, “We mothers stand still, so our daughters can look back to see how far they’ve come.” As I reminisce about my six-month tenure in Oklahoma as a Bill Emerson Hunger Fellow, I think about the generations of my Vietnamese ancestors that longed for a future of joy, stability, and imagination beyond the atrocities of colonization, war, and poverty.

Read more »
State Capitol ceiling

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (February 2024)

It’s a busy week at the Capitol! February 26 and 29 are the first series of deadlines for filed legislation to make it out of committee. While it’s still early in the session, after this week we’ll have a better idea of which bills stand a fighting chance to make it all the way to the Governor’s desk.

Read more »
Workers assembling meals

Summer Meals Regional Convenings to Kick Off February 22

HFO will hold three Summer Meals Regional Convenings in partnership with the Childhood Food Security Coalition (CFSC), Food Bank of Eastern Oklahoma (FBEO), and Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma (RFBO). These convenings will replace the previous annual Summer Meals Kick-off format. 

Read more »

Long-term Impacts Take Long-term Work

I recently spoke on the value of systems change and advocacy to a group of nonprofit leaders convened by the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits. I was recognized with an innovation award, which was an acknowledgement of HFO’s staff and partner’s ability to creatively implement original approaches to fighting hunger in our state. I noted that the most important step for innovation is scaling. If it is not scalable, then an innovation is not a solution.

Read more »

Make Every Tuesday Giving Tuesday with Monthly Donations to Hunger Free Oklahoma

As we approach the holidays, we encounter many heartbreaking and heartwarming stories of need and generosity. We are all appropriately moved by accounts of struggling families who are gifted boxes loaded with turkeys and all the trimmings. We know that everyone deserves to gather at the table with loved ones, and we express this value by charitable giving, almost a third of which happens in December. Our giving reflects our belief that everyone should have a full belly and a full heart this time of year.

Read more »
State Capitol ceiling

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (November 2023)

Winds of change bring us cooler temperatures and a swift conclusion to the 2023 special session Governor Stitt requested on tax cuts and budget transparency. As we look ahead to the end of the calendar year, advocates will be focusing on the smattering of remaining interim studies scheduled in the coming weeks, a few special elections, and eagerly awaiting December 8 and January 18 deadlines for bills to be requested and filed for 2024’s Legislative Session.

Read more »
A graph showing the prevalence of food insecurity in households with children, 2001-22.

Hunger Free Oklahoma Releases Statement on USDA’s 2022 Household Food Security in the United States Report

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) released its 2022 Household Food Security in the United States report this week. The USDA report shows a national increase in food insecurity rates, and state-level data reports Oklahoma’s food insecurity rate is higher than the national average.

Read more »
Happy family sharing food

Oklahoma Schools Can Prevent Household Hunger

While hunger and soaring prices continue to affect Oklahomans, SNAP offers a multi-generational intervention with a track record for improving food security.

Because schools have the data and relationships to connect families to food resources, they are uniquely positioned to reach and improve food security for many of Oklahoma’s most vulnerable families.

Read more »
State Capitol ceiling

Capitol Insider: Latest News on Food Insecurity Policy & Advocacy (October 2023)

Winds of change bring us cooler temperatures and a swift conclusion to the 2023 special session Governor Stitt requested on tax cuts and budget transparency. As we look ahead to the end of the calendar year, advocates will be focusing on the smattering of remaining interim studies scheduled in the coming weeks, a few special elections, and eagerly awaiting December 8 and January 18 deadlines for bills to be requested and filed for 2024’s Legislative Session.

Read more »

Working together for a hunger free Oklahoma.

To top