Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

青年之声的阶梯

YAC 是一种真正的青年参与的代际方法,我们遵循 Adam Fletcher 采用的青年之声阶梯。阶梯的最低级别代表了青少年项目,他们无法对他们从事的项目、他们所做的活动做出决定,并且可能看起来只是象征性的角色。阶梯的最高层代表由青年人领导的项目、决策、实践解决冲突并体现青年驱动的氛围。我们在俄克拉荷马州无饥饿青年行动委员会计划中努力实现青年/成人平等。

阅读更多»
显示 2001-22 年有儿童家庭粮食不安全发生率的图表。

俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿组织就美国农业部 2022 年美国家庭粮食安全报告发表声明

美国农业部 (USDA) 本周发布了 2022 年美国家庭粮食安全报告。 美国农业部报告显示全国粮食不安全率上升,州级数据报告俄克拉荷马州粮食不安全率高于全国平均水平。

阅读更多»
幸福的家庭分享食物

俄克拉荷马州学校可以防止家庭饥饿

尽管饥饿和物价飞涨继续影响俄克拉荷马人,但 SNAP 提供了多代人干预措施,在改善粮食安全方面有着良好的记录。

由于学校拥有将家庭与粮食资源联系起来的数据和关系,因此它们具有独特的优势,可以实现和改善俄克拉荷马州许多最脆弱家庭的粮食安全。

阅读更多»

俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿组织首席项目官理查德·科莫荣获阿斯彭研究所食品领袖奖学金

俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿 (HFO) 首席项目官理查德·科莫 (Richard Comeau) 最近受邀来到科罗拉多州阿斯彭,在那里他开始了阿斯彭研究所食品领袖研究员的任期。 2023 年粮食领袖研究员包括企业家、投资者以及民间和非营利组织领导人,致力于改变粮食系统以消除粮食和营养不安全、支持企业家和农民并推动可持续解决方案。

阅读更多»

填补夏季粮食缺口:最大限度地为所有人提供夏季膳食

夏天是阳光、朋友和欢乐的时光,但当食物有限时,这可能会给家庭带来巨大的压力。 在学年期间,学生可以享用早餐和午餐,但当学校放假时,他们就失去了重要的膳食来源。 夏季膳食计划可以帮助家庭填补食物缺口并吸引社区参与。

阅读更多»
一群不同的学生一起吃午餐。

助推成功:利用食品资源度过返校季

随着夏天的最后几天渐渐过去,秋天的低语开始出现,又到了一年中的这个时候——返校季节。 除了匆忙购买新背包和新笔记本之外,从假期模式到学校模式的转变还带来了对日常生活和责任的重新关注。

阅读更多»
人们在农贸市场购物,那里的大牌子上写着“我们欢迎 SNAP 福利”。

SNAP 工作要求和豁免解释

今年,国会正在考虑解决粮食不安全问题的最重要立法——《农业法案》。 但农业法案到底是什么? 关于农场的法案? 是的,但比大多数人可能意识到的更深层次。  

阅读更多»

从农场到餐桌:揭开农业法案解决粮食不安全问题的秘密

今年,国会正在考虑解决粮食不安全问题的最重要立法——《农业法案》。 但农业法案到底是什么? 关于农场的法案? 是的,但比大多数人可能意识到的更深层次。  

阅读更多»
一群年轻人站在彩色墙前。

现在青年是领袖

将近 XNUMX 年前,当我开始与青少年一起工作时,我的职责是为孩子们打造一个放学后的空间,供他们玩耍、玩耍、吃零食,并送他们回家。 每年,我都会更多地了解参加我的计划的年轻人,以及如何不仅帮助他们,而且帮助他们的整个家庭。

阅读更多»
幼儿园的孩子们一起吃盒饭

学校膳食表格又回来了:如何加强你的收集过程

均衡和安全的营养有助于学生在课堂内外取得成功,对他们的整体健康和学业成绩起着至关重要的作用。 “大多数美国儿童每天上学六个小时,在学校消耗的热量相当于他们每天摄入的热量的一半。”

阅读更多»

需要改变政策以确保现役军人的食品安全

补充营养援助计划 (SNAP) 是一项帮助低收入家庭的联邦营养计划。 领取基本住房津贴 (BAH) 的军人尤其难以获得 SNAP 的资格,因为在确定 SNAP 资格时,BAH 算作收入。 目前,现役军人获得 SNAP 的机会不足,国会必须努力将 BAH 排除在 SNAP 资格的收入之外。

阅读更多»
人们在农贸市场购物,那里的大牌子上写着“我们欢迎 SNAP 福利”。

您当地的农贸市场可能有助于应对不断上涨的食品成本

正如每位喂养孩子的父母都知道的那样,食品价格正以历史性的速度上涨。  
根据美国农业部经济研究局的数据,到 2022 年,杂货店或超市的食品采购价格上涨了 11.4%。 预计 2023 年食品价格增长速度将放缓,但仍高于历史水平。 到 2023 年,杂货价格预计将上涨 7.8%。  

阅读更多»

HFO 员工与图书馆联系

饥饿外展计划专家 Alissa Snider 本月早些时候,HFO 团队成员参加了在诺曼举行的俄克拉荷马州图书馆协会 (OLA) 年会。 在为期两天的活动中,HFO 工作人员与公共、学校和大学图书馆工作人员就解决社区饥饿问题的机会进行了交流。 HFO 有机会分享联系方式 […]

阅读更多»

关爱嘉年华:2023 年夏季餐会开幕

饥饿外展计划专家埃里克·巴尔 (Eric Barr) – 夏季膳食启动与会者俄克拉荷马州儿童食品安全联盟的 2023 年夏季膳食启动由俄克拉荷马州完全健康和威廉姆斯主办,是一个适合各个年龄段的人! 感谢所有参与者、主持人和赞助商。 因为 […]

阅读更多»

最重要的一餐:2022 年学校早餐报告发布

区域项目经理凯蒂·雷蒙德 (Katie Raymond) 作为俄克拉荷马州消除饥饿通讯订阅者,您可以提前了解 2022 年俄克拉荷马州学校早餐报告! 该报告重点介绍了俄克拉荷马州的三个学区,这些学区采用“钟声后早餐”模式,分享他们的故事和建议,以针对不同学校的需求和偏好优化该计划。 这 […]

阅读更多»

一起走向食品正义

在过去的几个月里,作为艾默生国家饥饿研究员,我发现当我告诉人们我在俄克拉荷马州无饥饿组织 (HFO) 工作时,他们经常会问同样的问题。 “那么,你给人们食物吗?” 回答“否”往往会使解释我的工作变得更加复杂,但它也提供了一个机会,可以更全面地了解抗饥饿工作可以——以及确实——是什么样子。  

阅读更多»
参议院楼层

选举结束了:现在怎么办?

电视广告已经停止。 广告牌正在下降。 不请自来的短信和电话速度变慢了(或至少转移了话题)。 2022 年的选举季基本上已经结束。 除了这次短暂的竞选活动暂缓之外,现在会发生什么? 让我们来分解一下选举的后果,以及它对各级倡导者的意义。

阅读更多»
白宫会议

白宫会议为反饥饿工作奠定了基础

HFO 执行董事克里斯伯纳德的反思 28 月 XNUMX 日,我有幸代表俄克拉荷马州的“无饥饿组织”参加了白宫关于饥饿、营养和健康的会议,这是历史上第二次此类会议。 参加会议是一次了不起的经历。 然而,我(像许多亲自或虚拟参与的人一样)一直在工作 [...]

阅读更多»
主要博客

课后餐有助于填补空白

作者:饥饿外展计划专家 Kaitlyn Klippert 和饥饿外展计划高级专家 Treasure Standeford 随着夏季正式结束,俄克拉荷马州各地的学校重新开学,随着秋天的临近,家庭正在展望未来。 虽然我们中的许多人都期待着未来几个月的毛衣、南瓜香料和冷却器 […]

阅读更多»

成为学校村庄的一部分

区域项目经理凯蒂·雷蒙德 (Katie Raymond) 撰文 尽管阳光明媚且气温很高,但八月在俄克拉荷马州意味着返校季。 在学校用品交易​​和免税周末之间,本季旨在确保家庭拥有在新学年取得成功所需的一切。 但是如何授权[...]

阅读更多»
士兵拳头碰撞

英雄不应该挨饿

Eric Barr,SNAP 外展协调员 俄克拉荷马州是一个对军队非常友好的州。 它为现役军人和退伍军人提供免税、就业服务、学费资助和其他津贴。 尽管政策有利,但在俄克拉荷马州的 20,000 名现役军人中,四分之一的人参加了 SN​​AP(补充营养援助计划),21,000 名退伍军人中约有 1 [310,000] [...]

阅读更多»

为一个没有饥饿的俄克拉荷马州而共同努力。

页首

Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Ladder of Youth Voice

YAC is an intergenerational approach to authentic youth engagement and we follow the Ladder of Youth Voice, adopted by Adam Fletcher. The lowest levels of the ladder represent programs with youth who are not able to make decisions on the projects they work on, the activities they do, and can appear to be in token roles. The highest levels of the ladder represent programs with youth who are leading projects, making decisions, practicing conflict resolution, and embodying a youth-driving atmosphere. We strive for youth/adult equity in our Youth Action Council program at Hunger Free Oklahoma.

Read more »
A graph showing the prevalence of food insecurity in households with children, 2001-22.

Hunger Free Oklahoma Releases Statement on USDA’s 2022 Household Food Security in the United States Report

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) released its 2022 Household Food Security in the United States report this week. The USDA report shows a national increase in food insecurity rates, and state-level data reports Oklahoma’s food insecurity rate is higher than the national average.

Read more »
Happy family sharing food

Oklahoma Schools Can Prevent Household Hunger

While hunger and soaring prices continue to affect Oklahomans, SNAP offers a multi-generational intervention with a track record for improving food security.

Because schools have the data and relationships to connect families to food resources, they are uniquely positioned to reach and improve food security for many of Oklahoma’s most vulnerable families.

Read more »

Hunger Free Oklahoma’s Chief Program Officer Richard Comeau is Awarded an Aspen Institute Food Leaders Fellowship

Richard Comeau, Chief Program Officer for Hunger Free Oklahoma (HFO), was recently welcomed to Aspen, Colorado, where he began his tenure as a Food Leaders Fellow of the Aspen Institute. The 2023 Food Leaders Fellows include entrepreneurs, investors, and civic and nonprofit leaders dedicated to changing the food system to eradicate food and nutrition insecurity, support entrepreneurs and farmers, and push forward sustainable solutions.

Read more »

Filling the Summer Food Gap: Maximizing Summer Meals for All

Summer is a time for sunshine, friends, and fun, but when food is limited, it can be a huge stress for families. During the school year, breakfast and lunch are available to students, but they lose critical access to meals when schools are out. Summer meal programs can help families fill the food gap and engage the community.

Read more »
A group of diverse schoolchildren eat lunch together.

Fueling Success: Navigating Back-to-School Season with Food Resources

As the last days of summer fade away and the whispers of autumn begin to emerge, it is that time of year again — back-to-school season. Beyond the flurry of buying new backpacks and fresh notebooks, the transition from vacation mode to school mode brings with it a renewed focus on routines and responsibilities.

Read more »
People shopping at a farmers market with a large sign that says We Welcome SNAP Benefits.

SNAP Work Requirements and Exemptions Explained

This year, the most important legislation for addressing food insecurity is being considered by Congress – the Farm Bill. But what is the Farm Bill, really? A bill about farms? Yes, but at a much deeper level than most people might realize.  

Read more »

From Farms to Plates: Unveiling the Farm Bill’s Secrets to Tackling Food Insecurity

This year, the most important legislation for addressing food insecurity is being considered by Congress – the Farm Bill. But what is the Farm Bill, really? A bill about farms? Yes, but at a much deeper level than most people might realize.  

Read more »
Group of youth standing together in front of a colorful wall.

Youth Are Leaders Now

Nearly two decades ago, when I began working with youth, my responsibilities were to build an afterschool space for kids to have fun, play, eat a snack, and send them on their way home. Each year, I learned a little more about the youth enrolled in my program and how to not only help them, but their whole families.

Read more »
Kindergarten children eating packed lunch together

School Meal Forms Are Back: How to Supercharge Your Collection Process

Balanced and secure nutrition contributes to students’ success in and out of the classroom, playing a critical role in their overall health and academic achievement. “Most US children attend school for six hours a day and consume as much as half their daily calories at school.”

Read more »

Policy Change is Needed to Ensure Food Security for Active Duty Military

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) is a federal nutrition program that helps low-income families. Service members that receive the Basic Housing Allowance (BAH) especially struggle to qualify for SNAP, as BAH counts as income when determining SNAP eligibility. Currently, active-duty military access to SNAP is insufficient, and it is imperative that Congress works towards excluding BAH as income for SNAP eligibility.

Read more »
People shopping at a farmers market with a large sign that says We Welcome SNAP Benefits.

Your Local Farmers Market May Help with Rising Food Costs

As every parent feeding a child knows, food prices are rising at historic rates.  
In 2022, the price of grocery store or supermarket food purchases increased by 11.4 percent, according to USDA’s Economic Research Service. Food prices are expected to grow more slowly in 2023, but still at above-historical rates. In 2023, grocery prices are predicted to increase 7.8 percent.  

Read more »

HFO Staff Connect with Libraries

by Alissa Snider, Hunger Outreach Program Specialist Earlier this month, HFO team members joined the Oklahoma Library Association (OLA) annual conference in Norman. During this two-day event, HFO staff engaged with public, school-based, and university library staff about opportunities to address hunger in their communities. HFO had the opportunity to share ways to get connected […]

Read more »

A Carnival of Caring: 2023’s Summer Meals Kickoff

by Eric Barr, Hunger Outreach Program Specialist “Tons of information and opportunities to learn and connect!” – Summer Meals Kickoff Attendee The Oklahoma Childhood Food Security Coalition’s 2023 Summer Meals Kickoff, presented by Oklahoma Complete Health and Williams, was one for the ages! Thank you to all the participants, presenters, and sponsors.   Due to the […]

Read more »

The Most Important Meal: 2022 School Breakfast Report Released

by Katie Raymond, Regional Program Manager As a Hunger Free Oklahoma newsletter subscriber, you’re getting an advance look at the 2022 Oklahoma School Breakfast Report!  The report features three Oklahoma school districts that operate Breakfast After the Bell models, sharing their stories and advice for optimizing the program for different schools’ needs and preferences. The […]

Read more »
White House conference

The Work Continues into 2023

We at Hunger Free Oklahoma are reflecting on 2022 with gratitude for you and so many others who continued to press on with us in the movement to end hunger across our state and our nation.

Read more »

Traveling Together Toward Food Justice

Over the past few months as an Emerson National Hunger Fellow, I have found that when I tell people that I work at Hunger Free Oklahoma (HFO), they often ask the same question. “So, do you give people food?” Answering “no” tends to make explaining my job more complicated, but it also provides an opportunity for a conversation about a more holistic view of what anti-hunger work can—and does—look like.  

Read more »
Senate Floor

The Elections Are Over: What Now?

The TV ads have stopped. The billboards are coming down. The unsolicited text messages and calls have slowed (or switched topics, at least). The 2022 election season has, largely, come to an end. Aside from this brief reprieve from electioneering, what happens now? Let’s break down what the aftermath of an election looks like and what it means for advocates at every level.

Read more »
White House conference

White House Conference Sets the Stage for Anti-Hunger Work

A Reflection from HFO’s Executive Director Chris Bernard On September 28, I had the honor of representing Hunger Free Oklahoma at the White House Conference on Hunger, Nutrition, and Health, the second such conference in history. Attending the conference was an amazing experience. However, I (like many who participated in-person or virtually) have been working […]

Read more »
Main Blog

Afterschool Meals Help Fill the Gap

by Kaitlyn Klippert, Hunger Outreach Program Specialist, and Treasure Standeford, Hunger Outreach Program Senior Specialist As summer is officially over and schools across Oklahoma are back in swing, families are looking to the future as autumn is rapidly approaching. While many of us look forward to the coming months of sweaters, pumpkin spice, and cooler […]

Read more »

Be a Part of Your School’s Village

by Katie Raymond, Regional Program Manager Even though the sun still burns bright and temps are high, August in Oklahoma means Back-to-School season. Between deals on school supplies and tax-free weekends, this season is geared toward making sure families have what they need to be successful for a new school year. But what about empowering […]

Read more »
Soldiers fist bumping

Heroes Shouldn’t Go Hungry

by Eric Barr, SNAP Outreach Coordinator Oklahoma is a very military-friendly state. It offers tax exemptions, employment services, tuition assistance, and other perks to active-duty military and veterans. Despite the favorable policies, out of Oklahoma’s 20,000 active-duty troops, one in four participate in SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program), and roughly 21,000[1] of the 310,000 veterans […]

Read more »

Working together for a hunger free Oklahoma.

To top